Home > Laws by State > Foreclosure Help in
KANSAS FORECLOSURE STATUTES
Book of the Year
Kansas Foreclosure Statute Laws
Judicial foreclosure is available in Kansas; non-judicial foreclosure is not. Primary service instrument is mortgage. The timeline for foreclosure in Kansas varies by process, but typically last 120 days. Right of Redemption and deficiency judgments are allowed.
Hud foreclosure homes in Kansas are at the highest level since the great depression. The Hud office is Kansas City Regional Office 400 State Avenue Room 200 Kansas City, KS 66101-2406 Phone: (913) 551-5644
- Visit our Kansas Foreclosure Laws section for relevant code.
RELATED GOOGLE SEARCHES
foreclosures sale kansas
house foreclosures kansas
In Kansas, lenders may foreclose on a mortgage in default by using the judicial foreclosure process.
Judicial Foreclosure: The judicial process of foreclosure, which involves filing a lawsuit to obtain a court order to foreclose, is used when no power of sale is present in the mortgage or deed of trust. Generally, after the court declares a foreclosure, the property will be auctioned off to the highest bidder.
The notice of the time and sale must be advertised once a week for three (3) consecutive weeks, with the last publication being no more than fourteen (14) and no less than seven (7) days before the scheduled date of sale. Notice of the sale must also be sent to the borrower within five (5) days of the first advertisement.
Unless otherwise ordered by the court, the sale is typically held at the courthouse of the county in which the property resides. The sale is by public auction to the highest bidder, who will receive a certificate of purchase. After the sale is confirmed, the winning bidder will be entitled to receive a sheriff’s deed, which will vest good and perfect title to the foreclosure bidder, once the borrowers right of redemption has expired. The borrower typically has twelve (12) months from the date of the foreclosure sale to redeem the property.
Lenders may sue to obtain a deficiency judgment for the difference between the foreclosure sale price and the amount due on the original mortgage.
kansas foreclosure statutes
for more information please visit
Chapter 58.--PERSONAL AND REAL PROPERTY
Article 2.--LIENS ON PERSONAL PROPERTY
58-211. Sale of property; notice required; form and content of notice. Before any such property shall be sold, if the name and residence of the owner thereof is known, notice of such sale shall be given the owner in writing, either personally or by mail, or by leaving a notice in writing at such person's residence or place of doing business. If the name and residence is not known, the person having the possession of such property shall cause a notice of the time and place of sale, and containing a description of the property, to be published at least once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper, if there is one published in the county where such sale is advertised to take place, and if there is no newspaper published in such county, then the notice shall be published in some newspaper of general circulation in such county. If the value of the property does not exceed $100, such notice may be given by written or printed handbills posted in at least five public places in the township or city where the bailee resides or the sale is to take place, one of which shall be in a conspicuous part of the bailee's place of business. Notices given under this section shall state that if the amount due with storage keeping and sale costs is not paid within 15 days from the date of mailing, personally giving or posting of the notice (as the case may be), the property will be sold at public auction.
History: G.S. 1868, ch. 58, § 6; L. 1872, ch. 142, § 6; R.S. 1923, 58-211; L. 1986, ch. 207, § 2; July 1.